Skip to content

In the Blink of an Eye…

6 February 2007

It’s amazing how your life can change in the blink of an eye… how you can go to sleep one night and wake up the next morning in a world you didn’t think you’d see for a while.

Monday morning on February 5th, I woke up in Kansas City. My flight to Joplin to meet my family was canceled the previous night and I had to get up after 5 hours of sleep to catch my early flight out. As I wiped the sleep from my eyes and contemplated curling back up in my warm blanket cocoon, I remembered something I had reminded myself to do when I woke up. I stumbled to the bathroom and sat on the coldest toilet seat in the world while I tried to decide whether or not I should bother getting in the shower. When I decided that, after two snoozes on the alarm, I really didn’t have time to shower, I went to get dressed.

A few minutes later, I realized I had forgotten about something in the bathroom. I walked in, picked up what I had left on the counter, turned it over, and saw two little blue lines staring back at me.

Yes, THOSE little blue lines. I had a moment of denial. Where was the box? Maybe on generic tests (the kind I had bought) two lines meant “no” instead of “yes”. I dug the box out of my suitcase. I stood there, as I imagine any woman who isn’t expecting this news would… box in one hand, test in the other, looking back and forth at each, almost willing the lines to change before her eyes.

I… am… pregnant. And alone in a hotel room at 5:30 in the morning. Now entering a mild state of ecstatic shock, I picked up the phone and called Tim.

“Hey baby,” he mumbled through sleep.

“Um, hi,” I had no idea what to say. This was not how I imagined telling the love of my life that we were about to be parents. I decided to take the plunge, “Guess what?”

“Huh? Is your flight late again?”

“No… um… we’re pregnant.”

And the second I said it, I could feel him smiling through the phone as big as I was. That’s the thing that we both keep coming back to. Regardless of the timing of finding out, or the impending birth, we have been excited from the moment we found out.

I guess it’s partly because we have been talking about having children since one of our first dates. I was watching a little girl in a booth next to ours at dinner. She had cornsilk blonde hair and gorgeous blue eyes and my mind just sort of wandered… and when Tim caught me and asked what I was thinking about, the bright red blush on my face was enough of a guilty admission that he wouldn’t let me get away with changing the subject until I had admitted that I was thinking that we would have kids that looked just like her.

To top it off, I have been told for about the past four years that I am not ovulating and in order to conceive, we would probably be facing rounds of tests and fertility treatments. In fact, the last test they did to confirm this was in October. Needless to say, it makes our little “miracle” even more of one.

I’m sure this week is going to be a blur of happiness, sharing our news with family and friends… some moments of “oh my God” and lots of moments of amazement about what we are about to share together. I’m so glad I have Tim by my side to experience this with me. I’ve always known he will be a wonderful father.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. kim-chee-san permalink
    26 February 2007 12:02

    You are sooooo right about how your life can change in the blink of an eye–sometimes for the worse.

    But this isn’t about me…so, congratulations!!! That’s awesome news on a dreary day like today. I’m really happy that you guys have been blessed to be able to experience what I consider the most unique part of our existence.

    We’ll have to have another celebration soon!

  2. Katie permalink
    26 February 2007 12:12

    OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD!!! Oh wow! Yippie!!!! You’re going to wind up with angelic cherubs… heh, unless they get your personality 😉 then you’ll get devilish cherubs. either way they’re gonna be beauts and I’m sure they’ll be raised right. Just don’t let ’em join the Navy, eh?
    Congratulations!

  3. Scott permalink
    26 February 2007 13:50

    Though we have never met I have enjoyed your blog for some time now. Like I have said before I love your writing style and the way you look at things. As a father of a 1 year old who is here because of the miracle of IVF I am so happy for you and for anyone that does not have to do everything that we had to do. I know everyone is going to hit you hard with suggestions so I am going to make mine simple. That same humor that you look at life with is the same one you need to look at the whole pregnancy and being a parent with. If you are not crazy at this point don’t worry you will get there. Second is some advise my DW’s OB gave us on our first visit. He said as both your doctor and as a parent take my advise if there is any was possible go one last big vacation together as just the two of you. Well we did and we both agree it was the best advise anyone gave us….

    Good luck!

  4. Denise permalink
    26 February 2007 20:29

    HOLY SH*T!!!!!!! REMEMBER THE DAYS IS ALL I HAVE TO SAY!!!!! I am sooooooooooo happy for you !!!! you have no idea..CALL ME CALL ME CALL ME

  5. Rachel permalink
    26 February 2007 21:19

    We went to high school together. I’m the one who married “The Subway Guy” although, if you ask me, the most important part is that I divorced him. Anyway, congratulations on the bambino. I know it’s difficult when you’re told it’s unlikely – I was told it was unlikely. I couldn’t wrap my head around the fact that 16 was my only chance. I wasn’t done. But life has a way of giving us happy surprises sometimes and now miss Olivia is tearing through my house and rearranging my bookshelves. So enjoy! All the best to the three of you.

    Rachel (Northcutt) Lyon

  6. Mandy Hantla permalink
    28 February 2007 08:56

    Thanks for sharing your news Lori. I’ll be praying that everything goes smoothly for you and little blueberry during this time. You need to come visit us again in NC!

  7. Sarah permalink
    3 March 2007 16:36

    congrats to both you guys. you’re going to have the most rockin’-est kid ever (because its gonna have the most rockin’-est parents ever!), and the cutest kid ever. i’m excited for both of you. glad i saw your blog, since i wasnt able to say congrats in person. maybe after the dust settles.

    =D

  8. Aunt Cary permalink
    7 March 2007 21:16

    Another little VanDyne baby. Yeah! Take care of yourself and the little one. Cherish God’s gift. Sid & Sheryl — Granddaddy and Grandma VanDyne . . . that’s an awesome thought! We’re praying for health and happiness for you all. Love, Little-Blueberry’s-Great-Aunt&Uncle Cary & DD in NC.

Trackbacks

  1. New Blog for a New Chapter « quixoticchaotic

Leave a Reply

