Skip to content

14 (and a half) Weeks

4 April 2007

Better late than never… sorry I’ve been slacking off on blogging!

Blueberry is now the size of an apple.

Your baby has fully developed sex organs by this week, although they’re still difficult to see through ultrasound. She’s 3 to 4 inches long and weighs an ounce and a half, give or take a few grams. Now that the major systems are in place, the fetus will start to grow at an amazing rate. In the next month or so, she’ll triple in length and reach the impressive weight of 1 pound.

Your baby’s bladder is beginning to function and, believe it or not, your baby actually begins urinating. In fact, although doctors are not really sure how or where your baby’s urine is produced, they do know it is one component of the amniotic fluid, which regenerates itself every 3 to 4 hours. Her neck is complete, and she even has fingerprints.

She is beginning to move around in the amniotic fluid. Fetal movement, or “quickening,” can occur as early as this week, so be alert for fluttering sensations in your belly. If you can’t feel them, however, don’t worry, they’re more likely to occur between the 18th to 22nd week. In subsequent pregnancies, fetal movement usually is felt earlier.

I was excited when I read this week’s developments to find out that, in fact, I was NOT crazy or imagining things when I woke up Sunday morning and felt like something was moving in my belly. As I was laying on my back, halfway between awake and asleep, I felt this little fluttery sensation in my low abdomen. It really does feel different than gas or tummy rumbling or cramps or anything you can imagine. It went on like that for a while and then stopped. That night, when we went to bed, I had Tim push on my stomach to see if anything happened. Sure enough, she started jumping around in there again. It was so neat! It’s hard to feel — usually I’m on my back in bed when it happens, although there have been a couple of times sitting that I have felt it as well. I can’t wait until it starts becoming stronger and more frequent, which it should over the next couple of weeks. Some places I’ve read say that others can’t feel it moving until about 24 – 28 weeks but some say 2 -4 weeks after the mother can feel movement. I think it will be most exciting when I can share it with Tim.

Eve I finally feel like I am over the first trimester hormone attack, although I’m still subject to fits of moodiness and fatigue. I haven’t really been having cravings so much as aversions to foods. And, contrary to what everyone asks me, I’m not craving chocolate or ice cream… in fact, those are two things I like the least right now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

