Skip to content

15 Weeks

11 April 2007

This week, Blueberry is the size of an orange.

Your baby weighs about 1.75 ounces and is about 4 to 4.5 inches in length. Over the course of the next month, she will grow to weigh ONE POUND. The body is now growing faster than the head, balancing out that brain-heavy look and making the fetus appear more baby-like.

Her heart is growing strong and, even though it is little, it is pumping between 20 and 25 quarts of blood every 24 hours. By the time you are ready to deliver, your baby’s heart will be circulating up to 300 quarts of blood every 24 hours.

Many babies develop their future hairline pattern this week, although it can take quite a bit longer for the hair to fully develop. The skin is covered with lanugo, an ultrafine hair that protects it until birth. There are also the beginnings of tiny eyebrows.

As for mom — this is the week when the uterus starts protruding over the pubic bone, making most women “pop” and really start to show a bump, other than the general blood & tissue mass gains thus far. I’m going to take a belly pic this week since the last one was a little misleading and because we won’t have time next week. This morning, I detected the remnants of my former muscle definition at the top of my abs and I wished them a fond farewell as I won’t be seeing that much longer!

I feel SO much better this week that it’s amazing (minus that whole working 21 hours in the first two days because of a launch thing).  I’m in a generally great mood; my appetite is good but I don’t feel controlled by cravings; with the exception of a couple of days where naps are required, my energy levels are pretty stable; my skin is starting to clear up; that nasty problem from last week’s entry has disappeared.

The only setback is that my doctor’s office called to “clarify” my bloodwork results and tell me that I am slightly anemic. No big deal… it’s apparently very common in the 2nd and 3rd trimesters as the body really starts to crank out extra blood. Just have to start taking an additional iron supplement (and drinking prune juice to balance the lovely side effects from it). Plus, that will help enhance my overall energy levels and physical well-being.

Another possible mood-enhancing influence is that I dropped my Monday/Wednesday Comp 2 class last week. The prof had a very strict no-tolerance policy for absences (regardless of the reasons) and I was already going to miss three classes just for our vacation and another one for work. He had a habit of assigning papers on Monday to be due on Wednesday and never liked to give us a heads up on topics. In the midst of all that is going on with the wedding, work, pregnancy, and just trying to have a life outside of those things, it was too much to handle. I would have had to write two papers before leaving on our vacation and upon returning, been a week behind on a research paper/final. Not worth the stress at all. As soon as I dropped it, I felt like a million tons had been lifted off my chest. Now I can focus on enjoying our trip and our time together and other things that really matter right now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. .Bittersweet. permalink
    11 April 2007 10:31

    You think Blueberry is growing fast now … Megan is on track to be walking by the time I see her next month (11 m.o.) with Brigid coming in close behind her. Wonders never cease.

Leave a Reply

