Skip to content

21 Weeks

21 May 2007

BananaThis week, Blueberry is the size of a banana. I think that’s more length-wise than width-wise. I hope. This is my first weekly report knowing what the sex is!

Your baby weighs just under a pound at 13 – 14 ounces and is about 7.2 inches from head to rump. Not bad for a little guy who weighed barely an ounce 10 weeks ago!

His hearing is developing, and sounds from your conversations can be heard inside the uterus — along with your heartbeat, stomach rumblings, and the pulsing of blood vessels. In fact, the womb is so noisy that it’s been compared to an airport runway during takeoff; it’s thought that the stimuli prepare the baby for the cacophony of noises, sights, and sounds that will greet him at birth.

Your baby is now busy putting fat onto those bones. Most likely, you have felt your baby’s in-utero gymnastics. He’s learning how his arms and legs move, and using his hands to feel his facial features. With lots of amniotic fluid providing room to move, your baby will be very active. Babies have sleep and wake cycles and you may find that these get more predictable as the months progress. Babies are typically active in the late evening, just when Mom is trying to get to sleep. Towards the end of this trimester the baby will begin to settle, usually in a head down position (although some babies do not turn head down until late in the last trimester and about 3-4% of babies will remain in a breech position).

I was going to post a belly pic today but it really doesn’t look that much different from the last one, so I’ll wait a couple more weeks.  I know I’ve gotten a little bigger but I think right now it’s more vertical than front-to-back.  The funny thing is that, from the back, I still have (somewhat) of a waist and don’t even look pregnant.  From the right angle in the front, you can’t really tell either.  But turned sideways… there is no doubt anymore.

This weekend was the first time I’ve been out in public and had strangers comment on it. All good so far.  One guy at Home Depot (helping us load bricks into the truck, thank goodness he came along) told us about how revered pregnant women are in his country (Ethiopia) and that they basically don’t have to lift a finger for 9 months.  And then he told me that he could tell I was going to have a boy before we even said anything.

I’m feeling great this week, other than being super-sore and tired from a weekend of non-stop landscaping and yard work.  It’s all part of our master plan to get the house ready to rent out.  I think it would be more tolerable if the work was for our own edification and enjoyment.  *sigh*  Yay for being a landlord.

Which reminds me… at the end of last week, Tim found out that he will most likely be going to Airborne school for the Army, starting around June 22 and lasting three weeks.  We knew it would happen at some point during the duration of my pregnancy, so we were prepared for it.  It’s not so much the time apart that throws a wrench in to things as it is the loss of my working buddy for three weeks in the midst of all we have to get done this summer.  Hopefully my family will be out here to visit while he’s gone so I can feel like I’m getting something productive accomplished.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marge permalink
    23 May 2007 20:11

    My mother always maintained you could tell if a woman was carrying a boy because it was a bubble in front, but you looked the same from the rear. Could it be true? Must be an Ethiopian wives tale too!

  2. 24 May 2007 07:29

    I’ve heard that one, too. The guy at Home Depot motioned that it was something about my face.

    I just found out that it is illegal in India to determine the sex of the baby before it is born. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

