Skip to content

25 (and a half) Weeks

21 June 2007

Kleenex

This week, Blueberry is the size of a large box of Kleenex. Maybe I should make him one of those little crocheted Kleenex box cover thingys that grandmas like to put in their bathrooms. Well, except for Blueberry’s grandmas. They’re much too hip for that sort of thing.

Blueberry weighs 1 pound 9 ounces. His stem cells are continuing to develop into bone tissue and the bones are continuing their ossification process and becoming harder. His brain is growing rapidly. If you could look inside my uterus, you’d see a well-proportioned head and body. His first meconium stool has been formed in the large intestine and will be excreted in the days following the birth.

Good thing Tim knows how to change diapers already!

There aren’t many nifty Blueberry development details to report like there used to be. Now it’s just growing, kicking, growing, kicking…

I’m doing pretty well and enjoying the pregnancy overall. I have my moments (okay, sometimes days) of hormonal irritability, exhaustion and minor physical complaints but I’m feeling happy and healthy. The most annoying things right now are a constantly bloody nose and brief episodes of my heart pounding for no good reason — fortunately, or not, both of these things are normal when your body is doubling its blood volume.

Oh, and let’s not forget my personal favorite side effect: the nausea has returned and, although only occasional, it takes me right back to the good ol’ days of the first trimester.  Such episodes include lovely scenes like the one two weeks ago.  I dropped Tim off at work (we carpool twice a week to Tyson’s Corner, where we work a block apart) and proceeded to drive to my office.  I didn’t even make it in the parking garage before my body decided to regurgitate everything I had eaten for breakfast… into my lap.  I had no choice but to turn around and drive back home in rush hour traffic to clean up.  Fun, fun!

Those of you who have seen me lately (and those who have now seen the latest belly pics) know that there’s no doubt now that I am prego, so I now having the blessing/curse of being on the receiving end of comments from strangers — positive, negative and puzzling. More on that topic later…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. .Bittersweet. permalink
    21 June 2007 16:45

    Ahhh, if only Aunt Night Mere knew how to crochet. *ponders* LMAO! Or not.

  2. 22 June 2007 08:15

    and I thought I was going crazy feeling nauseaus again! Although , I’ve been extremely lucky this whole pregnancy in that my nausea has remained a feeling that hasn’t made it’s way up and out 😉

    It’s good to see ya back on here =)

    and I swear you stole MY belly pics… we seem to be very close in size! =)

Leave a Reply

