Skip to content

26 Weeks… or 96 Days Left…

26 June 2007

26 WeeksThis week, Blueberry is the size of a cucumber.

Blueberry weighs almost 2 pounds and measures about 14 inches from head to heel. Hmm… that’s one big cucumber! He hears noises, responds to light, and is generally more aware of his surroundings. In the same way that you can see a flashlight if you hold it against your palm, he can see the light coming through your belly. You may notice increased activity when in brighter light and decreased activity in darkened rooms. His hearing is fully developed, and as he reacts to sounds, his pulse increases. He will even move in rhythm to music! (Guess Tim-daddy’s blog about the dancing was right!)

Veins are visible through Blueberry’s skin, although it is quickly changing from transparent to opaque. He is practicing breathing movements inside the womb. Air sacs begin forming in his lungs, which secrete surfactant. Surfactant keeps the lung tissue from sticking and allows the air sacs to inflate. His eyelids are open. All five of his senses are developed.

Blueberry continues to perfect his kung fu/ballet/musical theater/kickboxing routine in my belly. If he moves around on the outside as much as he does in there, I’m never going to get any sleep again for the rest of my life. It’s really fun to feel him, though, and easier to catch him moving to show other people — Aunt Night Mere got to feel him this week! He has also started pushing on me, almost like he’s stretching out in there to make more room. Last week, when Tim was playing guitar for us, I felt something pushing out of my side and reached down just in time to feel a hard little lump, like an elbow or a foot, for a few seconds before he moved again. And in the morning before I get out of bed, sometimes I can look down and see my stomach protruding in a certain spot… when we feel it, it’s hard as a rock like he’s pushing out with his head or his back. Other times, he pushes on my insides in spots that aren’t as cute or funny.

In mommy world… I can’t believe I’m down to double-digit days until my due date. I’m still doing well overall but I can definitely feel myself hitting that point where I really, actually have to slow down a bit. I have tried to keep things normal so far with a little extra rest when I need it, but now is the time to start using the “I’m pregnant” card because any extra stress (physical or otherwise) has a really good chance of sending me in to premature labor now. I have contractions on a semi-regular basis, which is a weird feeling. In fact, I’m having them this morning a lot. As long as they don’t increase in intensity and start coming at regular intervals, then it’s probably just my uterus practicing for the big day with some Braxton Hicks contractions.

In honor of my ever-fluctuating hormones, I’m adding new sections to my weekly update.
Things I Like This Week:
Radishes
Strawberries
The smell of the parking garage at work… who knew tires & exhaust fumes could smell so good?

Things I Don’t Like This Week:
Subway (the restaurant, not the thing)
Driving — it gives me contractions

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Marge permalink
    26 June 2007 14:24

    Don’t worry about not getting any sleep the rest of your life. At first, you only won’t get it when the baby wakes up, till he sleeps thru the night. Then, except for the occasional nightmare or tummy upset, you’ll sleep soundly for years. Till he gets his drivers license. Or discovers the opposite sex. Then you’ll worry and only sleep fitfully the rest of your life! 🙂

  2. 28 June 2007 16:15

    Hi there-

    I got your link from the Empowering Birth Blog – and think your blog is great. Your writing is delightful and your dedication to your little one is admirable! I wish you the best homebirth when the time comes, and in the meantime thanks for such a fresh, humorous, and touching look at pregnancy.

  3. 29 June 2007 12:21

    Thanks, fijimama! It’s nice to have new readers and know that my family & friends don’t just tell me they like my blog to keep from suffering the wrath of my hormones. Or maybe they do… LOL…

    Congrats on your latest good news! I’m sure he or she will be just as adorable an addition to your clan as the rest of those cuties. :o)

Leave a Reply

