Skip to content

28 Weeks = Third Trimester!

9 July 2007

This week, Blueberry is the size of a… umm… hairdryer. And not just a travel-sized one, either!28 Weeks

At the end of this week, you’ll enter the third trimester — a busy time for your little one. His movements will increase from now until around week 32 (dear Lord help me, I didn’t think it was possible), when he’ll start running out of room to roam. He’ll keep moving after that, but it will feel more like wiggling compared to the sharp kicks you may be experiencing now. He’s also growing strong — and long! He measures up to 16 inches from head to toe, and weighs anywhere from 2.5 to 3 pounds.

His eyelids, which have been fused shut, begin to open… along with a new set of eyelashes! He already appears a lot like he will look at birth, although the skin is quite wrinkled due to constant immersion in amniotic fluid. You’ve probably been feeling a lot of movement these last few weeks, even a few hiccups here and there! This is essentially a fetal reflex, but it sure feels weird, doesn’t it?

Yes, yes it does. Blueberry gets hiccups multiple times a day, sometimes they even wake me up in the middle of the night. It’s a lot easier to feel him now through my belly, too. This morning, I woke up on my side and there was this hard oval dome poking out. I reached down and rubbed it — it was his head! I guess he didn’t like my poking and prodding so I got a swift kick while he turned around so mommy couldn’t wake him up anymore. I still love feeling him move, although he spent a good portion of yesterday afternoon with a foot in my left ribs, making it a little uncomfortable to breathe.

What I missed telling you about last week is that from now for the next 10 weeks, Blueberry will gain a HALF A POUND per WEEK! Can you believe that? When I first read it, I was a little worried because of my non-existent appetite. But nature has a funny way of taking care of business. Out of nowhere, I’ve found more appetite than a horse. And it feels great to be eating again.

  • Things I Like This Week: Nothing in particular… just food.
  • Things I Don’t Like This Week: Most of my co-workers.
  • What I Miss About Being Not Pregnant: Turkey Club Sandwiches with Alfalfa Sprouts, Avocados and Swiss Cheese
  • What I Love About Being Pregnant: Imagining what it’ll be like to see Blueberry for the first time.

Edited to Add: The “Top Secret” Page has been updated!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 10 July 2007 09:25

    I’m cracking up at the things you don’t like this week! =)

Leave a Reply

