Skip to content

4th of July Catch-up

9 July 2007

I missed blogging last week — I was seriously neglecting my web duties amidst trying to get ready for a major launch at work and, more importantly, enjoying having my mom and my sister visit us! They arrived last Monday and just left this morning. I miss them already and it seems like they weren’t here that long, but I got to keep reminding myself that I’ll be seeing them again soon. ;o)  On a more mixed emotions note, Aunt Chickpea came to visit from San Diego and we got to hang out a few times… but the reason for her trip was not just fun and games.  She will be deploying to the Sandbox next month. Also, Tim left on Saturday for two weeks of Army training out-of-state!  After everything going on, it seems like a big, empty house but it is nice (for a little while) to have some much-needed “me” time.

In addition to sightseeing, catching up and shopping for baby bargains, we had Independence Day dinner with Tim’s family… complete with flag ice cream cake and watermelon for dessert. Before heading down to watch fireworks at the Pentagon, I had a little fun in store: belly painting! Tim & I had talked about doing it a while back and decided that 4th of July was a perfect excuse to bare my bump and get a little festive. With my mom’s outlines in place, everyone got in on a little artistic action. Blueberry even played along by kicking and pushing when they hit certain spots. It was great fun, and we got lots of smiles when we went out for the festivities.

OutliningAunt JesDaddy Time!

L to R: Outlines by Nana; Aunt Jes adds stripes; Tim-daddy helps out.

Finished Product After the ShowSide View

L to R: The Finished Product; After the Show; Side View


3 Comments leave one →
  1. 10 July 2007 09:29

    wowsers! Sounds like you’ve got a lot going on!! I’m glad you are enjoying the big empty house 😉 And I love the painted tummy!!!… although I’m afraid to show it to my 9 yo daughter… I’m sure it would inspire her 😉

  2. 10 July 2007 18:01

    It was so much fun. I’d love to have an excuse to do it again… Labor Day maybe? LOL… of course, I love any excuse to walk around with my stomach showing. If I didn’t work, I think I would exist in a belly shirt & jeans for 9 months. 🙂

  3. Great Auntie Lynn permalink
    10 July 2007 22:01

    Dear Blueberry,

    I just love that patriotic tummy. I wish I could have been there to add my touch. I
    think you might get a lot done while daddy is gone. But I know you and mommy are missing him.

    Love … Auntie Lynn

Leave a Reply

