Skip to content

29 Weeks

17 July 2007

29 WeeksThis week, Blueberry is the size of an iron. I don’t know how big that actually is, because I subscribe to the “if it needs to be ironed, I don’t need to wear it” philosophy.

Blueberry is now about 16.7 inches from head to toe and weighs about 2.7 pounds. He continues to be active and grow; however, you may be feeling fewer kicks and punches. This is because even though he is getting larger and stronger, he also has less space in which to gain momentum for these movements. His blood is now being produced from the stem cells in his bone marrow. He may be up all night and asleep all day. This may mean less uninterrupted snooze time for you during the next 11 weeks, but doesn’t necessarily mean your baby will be a night owl after birth.

I really haven’t noticed more movement at night than during the day… pretty much at any given time, I can feel him moving around if I stop and try to feel him. So, for now anyways, the nighttime stuff doesn’t wake me up. What wakes me up now is needing to go pee. So far, I have managed to just force myself back to sleep most of the time, although it’s admittedly not a peaceful sleep. I should get up but once I’m up, I’m wide awake and it takes me an hour to get back to sleep. I’ve threatened to keep a bowl by the bed so at least I don’t have to go far. But I think I’d feel a little weird peeing in the middle of our bedroom floor.

In other bodily fluid news…

I’ll spare you a full blog entry with the details, but I had another projectile vomiting episode this weekend. The worst parts about it: 1) it happened at a friend’s house, 2) it involved perfectly good, really yummy food. After a great meal at Casa de Iris & Chuck on Saturday night, we were sitting around chatting and digesting a delicious home cooked meal. Or, some of us were trying to digest. But others of us decided it would be more fun to kick our food instead. I was about a third of the way through a scrumptious piece of watermelon for dessert when I realized that the pushing was not going to stop and excused myself to the bathroom as quickly as possible.

It didn’t take long for me to have dinner & dessert again — in reverse. Which brings up the interesting thought that if you had dessert first and then dinner, it would be in the right order if you had to throw up later. I was trying to be quiet but I could hear Chuck ask Iris if she thought I was okay, so I’m sure they heard way more than they wanted to hear from my side of the door. Luckily, it didn’t take long and they saved my watermelon for me so I picked right back up where I left off. Plus, I got to take home extras from dinner to eat later.

Unfortunately, leftovers weren’t the only thing I got to take home… this was a particularly violent episode and even though it didn’t last long, I managed to pop enough blood vessels in my face & eyes that I couldn’t see clearly for a few hours. It wasn’t too bad yesterday with some makeup but today it has gotten worse. I look like a poster child for some rare CDC-discovered facial rash. Not a good look.

So much for sparing you a detailed account of the incident. I guess if you’re going to be around for the birth blog, you ought to be pretty comfy with all the lovely activities my body is doing right now. :o)

Really, though, other than those things, some occasional pushing on organs from Blueberry and being tired, I feel pretty good! I feel like I’m getting bigger but I’m not huge. So far, I’ve gained 16 pounds. I’m right on track for a normal 25 pound weight gain by the time this is all said and done, because at least six of those pounds will be Blueberry himself!

  • Things I Like This Week: Chewy Chocolate Chip Granola Bars. I ate dozen in less than 48 hours this weekend.
  • Things I Don’t Like This Week: Missing my personal massage therapist… uh, I mean my husband. Yeah… Tim.
  • What I Miss About Being Not Pregnant: Riding my motorcycle. *sigh* Especially poignant this week because I have to make a final decision on whether or not to sell her before we move out of the house.
  • What I Love About Being Pregnant: My hair is softer and less frizzy now than it was before; this just started happening over the last couple of weeks. And my nails have finally stopped splitting as much — now they just grow like crazy.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Iris permalink
    17 July 2007 22:06

    But you carried it off so nonchalantly!
    If I wasn’t so confident in my cooking skills, I would have been devastated. Hope you feel better this week…

  2. Great Auntie Lynn permalink
    18 July 2007 01:56

    You and “ralph’
    Are
    Something else!!!

  3. 18 July 2007 10:37

    Apparently, it runs in the “family.” I woke up in the middle of last night to the sound of Tyson vomiting all over the stairs. Cleaned it up, threw up myself, and then he did it again an hour later. It was a bit of a rough night.

  4. .Bittersweet. permalink
    23 July 2007 14:38

    One of these days I’ll tell you about my projectile vomiting on the trip! But I think I’ll spare all the other baby-interested people from typing it out here. ;o)

    DON’T sell Envy. Dooooonnnnn’tttttt!!!!!! :o(

Leave a Reply

