Skip to content

37 Weeks! It’s ON Now…

9 September 2007

This week, Blueberry is the size of a basketball…  AND, he’s officially considered “at term” now! That means whenever I go in to labor, we get to have him at home instead of worrying about having to go to the hospital. It feels like the final “milestone” has passed and from here on out, it’s just relaxing and waiting.

Blueberry is about 21 inches long and weighs around 6.5 pounds this week.  He is fully developed, any additional time in the womb now is spent putting on more weight.  He has developed enough coordination to grasp an object with his fingers.  He is practicing breathing by inhaling amniotic fluid, which leads to plenty of hiccups. 

The past few weeks have been particularly stressful and hormonal — what with getting moved and settled in to our new place while wrapping up loose ends at the house, trying to sell Truck (and procrastinating on selling the bike), working full-time and worrying about getting Blueberry stuff done before he arrives.  Finally things have calmed down and I’m trying to enjoy these last few weeks.  Being the control freak that I am, it’s hard to just let things take their course without constantly wondering where and when it will happen and what it will be like.

Wednesday, I had my 36 week midwife appointment where Tammi & Lori came to our place to get a few things ready that we bought for the birth.  It was a little surreal to see them here and have them putting stuff together from the birth kit.  Yesterday, I picked up the birth tub.  Now that 37 weeks is here, we are ready to welcome Blueberry in to the world in the comfort of our own home.  Yay!

Last week, I started working part-time and it has made a huge difference.  I go in from noon to five o’clock four days a week and have Wednesdays totally off.  Just being able to sleep in a little and not have to run off to work while I’m still half-awake is wonderful.  This week I’m going to catch up on blogging and belly pics while I still have time.

  • Things I Like This Week: Sleeping in as much as I want.
  • Things I Don’t Like This Week:  Waiting.
  • What I Miss About Being Not Pregnant: Guilt-free caffeine.
  • What I Love About Being Pregnant: My favorite thing is still feeling him kick and roll around (within reason, not the painful kind).  I know I’ll miss that a lot when he’s out.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Marge permalink
    10 September 2007 15:39

    Dear Blueberry-
    I wonder why they say you’re the size of a basketball and not a cannon ball: we all know which one you feel like! But soon you’ll be the size of a bundle, and Mommy won’t have a monopoly on snuggling you anymore! Looking forward to meeting you’re cute little self: come soon, they’ll give you a nice new name to try on!

  2. Auntie Lynn permalink
    11 September 2007 02:49

    Well Blueberry… I’ve been thinking about you a lot lately and your mom and dad. I’m glad you stayed in mommy’s tummy long enough to get well developed. So you have the hiccups a lot. That is pretty funny. I can hardly wait to see you… well and all the Virginia relatives. Hopefully I
    will be able to come in October sometime for a few days and then again at Christmas.
    I can’t even begin to imagine what it feels
    like for your mom to carry you around in her tummy. Tell her I’m glad she’s getting to slow her schedule down a little and sleep in in the morning. You all take care of yourselves and let me know right away when you arrive. I am getting so excited.
    Give my love to everyone. Love yas all.

  3. 15 September 2007 19:24

    I was sure I had posted my comment to this post… oh well… call it pregnancy brain 😉

    I know, for me, that 37 week milestone felt so good to cross…. suddenly you have the go ahead… and the real waiting begins! =)

    I’m glad you are able to sleep more and no doubt you are trying to ‘get everything done’…. enjoy these last few weeks… they pass so fast =)

    wishing you well,
    jenni

Leave a Reply

