Skip to content

Better Late Than Never… A Blueberry is Born

16 October 2007

Baby Born

We’re proud to announce the arrival of Keyven Tapley VanDyne Olson, who joined us on Sunday, October 14th at 3:11 a.m. He weighed in at 9 pounds, 7 ounces and measured an impressive 23 inches long! His first name is Gaelic and the original spelling is “Caoimhean” (we decided to go phonetic). It means “beautiful at birth.” We think it fits perfectly, but we might be a little biased.

Although the birth didn’t go as we planned, we’re so happy to finally have him with us. After laborinNew Familyg since Friday afternoon, the midwives and we decided late Saturday that a trip to the hospital was in order and after more labor and monitoring there, eventually it was deemed that an emergency c-section was necessary. Mom, Keyven & Dad are all doing great and we got to come home today from the hospital. As soon as we have more time & energy, we’ll definitely write a longer story about the whole birth. For now, we really want to thank Tammi & Lori for all their support & encouragement throughout a wonderful pregnancy, days of labor and waiting up late in the hospital with us. And thanks to all of you for your love & thoughts especially over the last couple of weeks. We can’t wait to have Keyven (okay, Blueberry) meet everyone!

Going Home

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    17 October 2007 09:47

    Congratulations! What a beautiful blueberry!

  2. .Bittersweet. permalink
    17 October 2007 12:20

    YAYAYAYAY! And, finally, a very Happy Birthday to you Keyven! :o) Can’t wait to see you, kiddo.

    Love – Aunt Night Mere

  3. Cari permalink
    17 October 2007 14:17

    CONGRATS Lori & Tim! FINALLY Blueberry is here! He is beautiful! I wish you all the best & all the fun! πŸ™‚

  4. Jessica permalink
    17 October 2007 14:24

    Yay Blueberry!!! It’s about time Keyven! We’re so glad you arrived safely, we were starting to worry about you! Congratulations Tim and Lori (Mommy and Daddy!!!) He looks beautiful!
    Lot’s of Love,
    Jessica & Justin Passaro

  5. Tamara permalink
    17 October 2007 14:31

    Tim & Lori~
    I am here in my hotel room on tour in Iowa CRYING!!! I am SO happy for you both, Keyvan could not be more precious!!! I can’t wait to meet him!!!
    All my love and smiles!!!
    ~Tams

  6. Mandy Hantla permalink
    17 October 2007 14:37

    What a cutie pie he is! I can’t wait to meet the little bundle soon. Congratulations Lori and Tim! Love, Mandy, Marcus and Lauren

  7. Jill permalink
    17 October 2007 14:40

    Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!! He is absolutely perfect. I hope you both are having fun with him, and good luck getting some sleep!
    Love.

  8. 17 October 2007 15:04

    =) CONGRATULATIONS Lori, Tim & Keyven!

    what a beautiful family you make. I can’t wait (though I will happily do so, and patiently, I’ll add) to hear more.

    I have to admit, when I got that text on Sunday morning, my whole family felt happy for you! I felt such relief knowing you were all well and together.

    =)
    if there is anything I can do, just let me know!

    way to go Lori! you rock!!!

  9. Aunt Cary permalink
    17 October 2007 15:12

    Another handsome addition to the VanDyne family. He makes great-grandson #10 for John & Betty VanDyne to go along with 7 great-granddaughters. We’re so happy he is here and everyone is healthy. Congrats to Papa Sid and Nana Sheryl too! Love Aunt Cary

  10. Chris permalink
    17 October 2007 15:32

    Finally! Blueberry is born! Now I don’t have to be afraid! Hehehe. I can’t wait to see your lil guy and I’m so happy for you!! Good going girlfriend!!!

  11. Atul Sharma permalink
    17 October 2007 15:42

    Now you have no excuse to not allow this wonderful angel the right to root for the Washington Redskins and not the poo poo STL Rams since he is a homer πŸ™‚ Seriously, what a beautiful baby! Congratulations to both of you and your families, I cannot wait to meet him one day!

    Love,
    Atul

  12. katie permalink
    17 October 2007 16:43

    Congratulations!! You three look beautiful together, very Normal Rockwell-esque. πŸ™‚
    I’m so very teary eyed right now. Way to go!

  13. Steph permalink
    17 October 2007 16:57

    OMG, FINALLY! Sheesh! That boy sure likes to make an entrance in dramatic fashion, huh? So glad to hear that all is well in Blueberry land! Welcome to our world (now your world) little Keyven! Can’t wait to meet you and give you Lova snuggles!!!!
    -Steph

  14. sarah permalink
    17 October 2007 19:30

    congradulations lori, tim and keyvan. well worth the wait. what a cutie he is! tell me where i can send you my funny little onie before he grows right out of it. 23 inches! wow. πŸ™‚

  15. Auntie Lynn permalink
    17 October 2007 23:28

    Hey there Keyvrs — Imagine how surprised my friends in choir were when I announced that you were born and that you were 33″ long. Well everyone had a good laugh on me. You are one big beautiful boy. Are you sure you’re not 3 months old? I love your hat!

    I’m so happy for you both Tim and Lori. I’ll put in an extra prayer for you Lori while you heal from your C-section. I’m glad you will be staying with your family eventually where you will get all the love and support you need while Tim is gone. You two
    must be just busting your buttons over your new little guy. Will you be unhappy with me if I call him Keyverrs. I thot that was a darling version for a baby. But I will do as you wish. I can hardly wait to see you 3. Take care and loads of love, Great Auntie Lynn ( – :

  16. Jim and Martha Heldenbrand permalink
    18 October 2007 16:50

    When do WE get to see this BUNDLE of joy??
    Congtats to all of you. We love you.

  17. Ana permalink
    18 October 2007 21:41

    CONGRATS you two, that baby is beautiful!!
    I guess the extra time in the oven made didnt go to waste. πŸ™‚

  18. Nana Sheryl permalink
    19 October 2007 23:52

    I could not be prouder of you and Tim for being so patient and strong. I know it seemed like the day would never get here to actually hold little blueberry in your arms. I’m afraid you’ve made us all have to think twice about calling him his new name, but I like it too. It kind of sounds like a soccer player or an actor…Keyven Olson:) We love you all and even though we missed getting to see him in person the first time, I know it won’t be long. I can’t wait to cuddle, kiss, and dote over him. Enjoy every moment!!!

  19. Marge permalink
    22 October 2007 14:57

    We had to come to Maine for “blueberries” since Little Blueberry morphed into Keyven. We’ll be back soon, and can’t wait to see him again-bet he’s changed in just this one week! Cute picture above!

Leave a Reply

