Skip to content

got milk?

24 October 2007

Today is Blueberry’s 10-day birthday. On one hand, it seems like so much longer (thank you, sleep deprivation). On the other hand… okay, it just seems like so much longer. He changes in little ways almost every day both physically and in his little routines.

We got home from the hospital last Tuesday and tried our best to settle in. It was a little upsetting to watch Tim take down the birth tub, full of water, and see the remnants of our long weekend of labor left lying around everywhere from our hurried departure Saturday night. It has been a challenge to cope with the hormones, stress, having a newborn and coping with the feelings that come with the disappointment of not having our homebirth and, on top of that, having a c-section. Yes, I know we did everything we could and yes, it was medically necessary and yes, we have a beautiful healthy boy to show for it, but none of those things change the feelings I am having right now.

My milk “came in” on Wednesday, which is really great news because sometimes it can be delayed following a c-section. I was a little worried about that because Keyven didn’t seem like he was going to be very happy with a colostrum-only diet for very long. After about a week of nursing, I (or shall I say, two certain parts of me) am finally adjusting to the routine. It’s hard to believe someone so little can eat so much, so often. Sometimes I feel like I am nursing non-stop… probably because I am.  On the plus side, I only weigh seven pounds more than my pre-pregnancy weight, so at this rate, I’ll be back to normal in no time.

Overall, sleep is going better than I expected. We only had one or two nights when he was up every hour. Most nights, we get at least one three or four-hour stretch of sleep with more frequent wake-ups on either end of the evening. Now that I’m more recovered, we have moved to sleeping in the bed instead of on the couch (and floor, for Tim) so that makes it easier to fall back asleep. Plus, Tim doesn’t have to get up as much, which sometimes irritates me, like when I’m awake for the fourth time in as many hours and he’s sawing logs… I guess that’s what I get for having boobs. He does nighttime diaper changes, though. Daytime sleep is a whole other story — some days, Keyven sleeps quite a bit. Other days, he’ll fall asleep nursing and as soon as I try to put him down, he wakes up. Or pretends to sleep for 10 minutes so I can start doing something productive and then wakes up fussing and won’t stop until he’s back on the Boppy, feeding and falling asleep on me. I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of the one-month mark, at which time I can start pumping and letting other people bottle feed him… and, I never thought I’d say this, but I can see now why parents buy pacifiers. I don’t know how people with newborns get things done. I guess they don’t… which is a problem right now, since we have fifty million things to catch up on and do in the next week and a half.

Speaking of which… you should check the Top Secret page for the latest update. We’ll try to keep things updated and, yes, the birth story is still pending but you’ll just have to deal with it for now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

