Skip to content

Mommy’s Pacifier

20 January 2008

The Scene: Joplin Mall, leaving the Macy’s women’s restroom with Victoria & Keyven

The Time: Post-diaper change, pre-shopping, in the middle of lots of silly baby voice talking from trying to keep Keyven happy during a public diaper change when he was hungry.

The Embarrassing Mommy-Moment: We are walking out of the restroom, Victoria is in front of me, carrying Keyven. I am behind her with the diaper bag.

Victoria asks if I remembered Keyven’s pacifier, as I am inevitably misplacing it, usually in my pocket or somewhere equally obvious to all but an absent-minded new mommy. I proudly proclaimed that I had it, but then I remembered I forgot my (equally important) Starbucks cup, which I had set on the top ledge of the diaper changing table. I headed back for it, still talking to Victoria. It was one of those times when you think the person you’re talking to is following you.

As I grabbed my cup, I said in my loudest, goofiest baby talk voice, “But we can’t forget MOMMY’S pacifier!” and turned around with a big dumb grin on my face to see if Keyven was smiling at me…

Instead I ran in to this very confused looking woman who had followed me in to the restroom. No Victoria, (and thus) no baby in sight. Just me, looking like a huge idiot who calls herself “mommy” in the third person in an extremely annoying baby voice. Lovely.

Not bothering to explain, I made as fast an exit as possible and burst in to the hall to find Victoria trying not to drop Keyven from laughing so hard. Thankfully, this whole motherhood thing teaches you to not take yourself so seriously. After a sisterly punch in the arm for leaving me hanging, my embarrassment quickly turned in to a mad case of the giggles. We left the store in a wake of confused make-up counter ladies wondering what on earth we was so funny that we were laughing to the point of tears.

The Moral of the Story: Keep your baby in sight at all times so you have an obvious excuse for your baby-brain-induced actions.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Iris permalink
    20 January 2008 13:00

    LOL! And here I thought you were too cool to become a babbling mommy-talker…

  2. 20 January 2008 16:37

    ROFL! I LOVE it! Keep up the giggling! Tammi

  3. 20 January 2008 17:36

    I think once you become a mommy, you are officially not “too cool” for anything. *sigh* 😉

  4. .Bittersweet. (Aunt Night-Mere) permalink
    21 January 2008 09:55

    LMAO … you’ll never live that one down, lady.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

