Skip to content

Two and a Half Month Review

17 June 2008

I can hardly believe that I’m ACTUALLY sitting down to write a blog!  That I actually have time to sit down and write a blog.  Our lives went from merely 028 hectic to positively frantic with a hint of meltdown over the past few months. I have thought of the blog often, composed little entries in my head to share about something fun or interesting that happened… and then never wrote them because I felt so crappy about how neglectful I have been of writing real updates.  It would take me all night to write everything that has gone on in prose form, so here’s a recap…

  • 06-10-08_1721Keyven is now: 8 months, 3 days old; almost 20 pounds and 28 inches tall
  • Baby Skills: mastered crawling about 1.5 months ago, has been eating two meals a day since we last blogged and is currently boycotting pureed foods in favor of feeding himself, jabbers like a monkey in a tree, is pulling himself up on anything that will hold still long enough
  • Cutest Things EVER: clapping, waving hi & bye,  giving kissies upon request, laughing and crawling away when told “I’m gonna get you!”
  • Number of Teeth: currently working on the first, much to the dismay of my boobs
  • Knows: his name, what “no” means, the baby signs for “more” and sometimes does “all done”
  • Likes: throwing plastic rings on non-carpeted floor to watch them bounce, chicken, black beans, Aunt Victoria, hats
  • Dislikes: diaper changes, being scolded by mom, still not a fan of bath time but screaming less, going to sleep

happydaddyday The short story on where I’ve been lately is that in the midst of preparing for finals and starting to think about our late-May trip to Virginia for Tim’s leave and Jody & Jes’ wedding, we found out that Tim’s leave was coming early.  As in, the first week of May early.  Cue frenzied scrambling to get permission to take my finals early and cramming for them in addition to doing all my end of semester projects; rescheduling and moving everything I had planned in the last two weeks prior to going to Virginia plus making arrangements to travel and lodge  early; oh, and buying a house in Pittsburg, KS.  Leave time with Tim was wonderful.  It was so much fun to spend time with him and Keyven as a family, especially since Keyven is much more interactive now.  But, in the midst of that, IMG_0184 we got a call that my grandmother passed away pretty unexpectedly, in the last week that Tim was home on leave.  We decided to travel to Kansas together for the funeral, which I was very thankful for even though it was all a bit crazy at the time.  Tim returned to Virginia alone and proceeded on to Iraq.  He’s now back there, at his new encampment.  Meanwhile, I decided to head back to Virginia for the wedding by myself (while Keyven stayed with my family in Kansas) and return with a moving truck and most of our stuff that has been occupying the basements and storage sheds of Arlington.  Upon my return, I continued the process of buying a different property from the aforementioned IMG_0288one, went to family reunion and decided to drop my summer college class in favor of retaining some semblance of sanity later when I remodel the new digs and move there before I start class full-time in August. 

Got all that?  I didn’t do any of the major events justice — Tim’s leave, the wedding, the house — but I’ll be able to share details as I relate stories about them now that I’m writing again.  It feels good to be back.  I missed you guys!

Photos, Top to Bottom: Keyven in his Radio Flyer (compliments of Nana & Aunt Victoria while mom was gone) clapping for his first ride; more Nana & AV spoiling — first Nikes & matching hat; holding on to Tim-Daddy’s ring during a nap on Father’s Day; DCUs and kilts — coming home to his baby boy; “Who Me?” — pulling books off the shelf, another new favorite activity.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 18 June 2008 11:36

    I absolutely LOVE the new picture banner!!!What’s not to love about your smiling babe?? πŸ˜‰

    Did you shave his head or is he just fuzzy??
    I’ve had you guys on my mind… especially on father’s day…. YOUR boys look so happy to be together!

    and the teething…. hmmm wish I could offer you some comfort! lol… H bit David’s thumb the other day leaving a mark… I was probably not that simpathetic… lol.. I said something like.. yep.. hurts huh?

    I’m so glad you are back!

  2. Sarah permalink
    19 June 2008 11:13

    you officially have the cutest baby, ever! good to hear things are going well, if a little crazy. definitely miss you guys out east. πŸ™‚

  3. 24 June 2008 19:34

    You’ll say that, Sarah, until you’ve got your own. I think every mama knows that *her* little one is the cutest. πŸ˜‰

    LOL @ Jenni & the head-shaving. Nope, just fuzzies. He has one little inch-long single hair in the back that sticks out sometimes. We are going to capture a pic of it one of these days!

  4. donna permalink
    27 September 2008 06:41

    he’s the cutest, i have a 2 and a half month old, he doesn’t have much hair either. He sleeps all night and i started him on baby rice cereal. He’s a great baby. Your pic’s are great!

  5. 27 September 2008 16:51

    Hi Donna, thanks for your comment. Keyven’s a bit older now, but still no hair! I guess the title on this one is misleading — I wrote it after not blogging for 2.5 months, but he was 8 months old at the time. πŸ™‚

    Re: rice cereal @ an early age. I just want to point out that the American Association of Pediatrics recommends waiting until 4 – 6 months before introducing solids (even rice cereal) to babies.

    Here is a link to their site: http://www.aap.org/publiced/BR_Solids.htm

    I know a lot of older generations try to push solids as a way of getting babies to sleep earlier, etc. My mom was one of those. But studies have shown that it can cause food allergies and other problems because baby’s intestinal tract is not ready for anything other than breastmilk or formula. You can Google “starting solids too early” for a list of articles on the topic.

    I know you have your son’s best interests at heart, so I hope you find this info helpful and not demeaning. There is so much to learn with a new baby and so many well-meaning myths out there that sometimes it’s overwhelming to know what to do!

    And lucky you for him sleeping all night! We finally got a sleep-through-most-nights routine down in the last couple of weeks. It’s wonderful to sometimes get to sleep for 7 or 8 hours straight!

Leave a Reply

