Skip to content

Keyven’s 1st Doctor’s Appointment

26 June 2008

Yes, you read that right.  Other than our car accident last year and recent a trip to the Express Care for an ear infection, Keyven had not been to a doctor until yesterday.  popsnkeyv Doctor’s offices, and hospitals, are for sick and injured people and for special check-ups.  I don’t subscribe to the “let’s expose your perfectly healthy child to all the germs in a doctor’s office for the sake of checking a box on the Good Parent report card once a month” school of thought.  And don’t get me wrong — I know some people aren’t comfortable with that way of doing things.  That’s fine.  If you’re one of those people, just don’t try to guilt trip me in to doing it to make yourself feel better.

While I’m ruffling feathers, and to answer the question most oft-asked by those who find out about my take on these visits, we are delaying vaccinations until Keyven is a little older.  Since we plan on traveling internationally as soon as possible, we do plan on doing some.  But by delaying, not only do we give Keyven’s system a chance to grow and mature on its on, we can break them up instead of giving them in huge chunks, and we can actually eliminate some of them that aren’t given after a certain age.  To my pleasant surprise, I was commended for doing my research and making my own decision when asked about vaccines and why I am delaying them.  No lectures… and I swear this isn’t some crunchy-granola holistic office. I’d be happy to expand on that topic but it’s enough for a blog of its own so that’ll suffice as an explanation for this one.  If you’d like to read more for yourself, I recommend checking out “What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Children’s Vaccinations” as a great starting point.

Our reason for going yesterday was two-fold: one, to get a physical done for his daycare application for this fall; two, because even though I don’t take him when he’s NOT sick, I do sometimes need to take him when he’s sick and I learned with the ear infection that it’s nigh impossible to get in as a new patient to see a good doctor.

Well, guess what?  Somehow he managed to grow perfectly healthy this whole time without the assistance of modern medicine.  I know.  It’s practically a miracle.   The nurses were in love with him and he got caught flirting with every lady in sight of his big blue eyes.  My home measurements weren’t too far off — he weighed 20 pounds, 10 ounces and he’s 28.75 inches tall.  Also, no surprise to anyone who has seen him in person, his head measurement put him in the 95th percentile for his age.  Yes, the boy has a big brain bucket.  Just like his mommy and daddy.  🙂    All his parts checked out just fine and, minus all the squirming and monkeying, he did great!  Now we are all set for day care adventures.

Photo: Random “catching up” photo — Keyven with his Pops on Father’s Day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 26 June 2008 11:38

    =) AWESOME!!!
    I had a feeling we were on the same page on this subject too! 😉 I love that you had such a good experience with his doc and that they were so supportive of your research and line of thinking!

    of course, I look forward to your expanded post on that too!! 😉

  2. Amanda permalink
    26 June 2008 14:11

    Sebastian recently had his first doctor visit for that very reason – you never know when you might need to make that 3 a.m. phone call and the ER is expensive.

    We didn’t get the vaccine lecture either, thank goodness.

  3. 26 June 2008 14:49

    Maybe it’s a good thing we didn’t meet before we both moved from the DC area. We might have been too much trouble for one town with our crazy, radical ideas and all this authority questioning. 😉

    Amanda! I’m so glad to hear from you. I was beginning to picture Sebastian swaddled in a basket floating in the reeds or something. Hope your visit was a good one.

Leave a Reply

