Skip to content

Professor Pronoun and the Case of Non-Stop Jibber Jabber

30 June 2009

IMG_5395We were visiting Grandma & Grandpa in Virginia about a month ago when we had our first unprovoked pronoun pronouncement.  Grandma and I watched as Keyven worked very hard to crawl up on to one of the couches.  It took a lot of work, grunting, and groaning.  When asked if he wanted help from mommy, I got a definite “no!” Then he reached the seat all by himself and turned around to plop down with a satisfied grin on his face. I said, “You did it!” And he beamed up at me and replied, “I did it!”

You could have knocked Grandma and me over with a feather.  Although we were proud, we thought maybe it was a fluke.  But a couple of days later, as he was trying to come down the stairs, I said, “Do you want me to help you?” and Keyven said, “Yeah, help me!”

And so began the chattering. Keyven has now covered third person pronouns in addition to first and second (for those of you who fell asleep in English class, that’s he/she/it/they in addition to I/we and you/ya’ll). Every day brings something new, and each day frequently includes minutes of conversation during which Tim & I have no clue what is being said.  Some highlights include:

– This past week during a visit to the Acheson/Theel clan in Olathe, Keyven started responding to “Do you want… ?” questions by saying, “Yeah, I do!” Of course if he doesn’t want something, he’s very adept at making that known as well.

– There was a phase, whenever Tim wasn’t in eyesight, where Keyven would ask, “Where is he?” or “Where’s Daddy?”  I would say, “I don’t know.  Where is he?” To which Keyven would reply (very decidedly), “Bathroom!”  I thought it was quite funny.  Tim is very thankful that now Keyven’s response to “where is?” questions is currently, “Hiding?”

– For quite some time, Keyven has been going to the bathroom to watch Daddy potty.  Apparently it’s quite an impressive sight, IMG_5408because the first few times he watched Tim hit the target, it resulted in an astonished, “Ohhh wow!”  A short while later, Keyven discovered his own boy parts during diaper changes.  A perfectly normal progression, except that he would would exclaim, “Da-da!” when he touched himself.  We got the connection, but it would be a little embarrassing to explain that at daycare.  Thankfully now, he has learned to say “penis”… and now we have to say good-bye to it when it’s time to get dressed.

The list of words & phrases goes on and on… I wish I could write them down every time he says a new one.  I swear he must know hundreds by now.  His biggest is “dishwasher” and his shortest is “w” and “x” (as in the alphabet). Paci, night-night, blanket, Elmo, truck, choo-choo (as in train), chew-chew (what I say when he needs to chew a bite), bed, up, down, apple, orange, red, blue, shoes, pants, arms, legs, nose, hair, eyes, pray, Amen!, dance, uh-oh, please, thank you, you’re welcome, bless you, flag, home…

Nothing melts my heart or can make me smile quite like the sound of his little voice, even when I can’t understand a word he’s saying.

Photos (Top to Bottom): K is also a fabulous helper when it comes to cleaning; another favorite task — carrying his own diaper bag.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Marge permalink
    1 July 2009 05:22

    It’s so neat, when you guys are far away, to have been present for the pronoun, stair climbing, and all those new words! He’s really amazing, and, of course, that’s a totally objective opinion!

  2. .Bittersweet. (Aunt Night-Mere) permalink
    1 July 2009 08:23

    And, just think, this is only the beginning! These days, I’m sure Heather is wishing the girls would pipe DOWN from time to time. 😉

  3. Sarah permalink
    1 July 2009 08:56

    Wow! Little man sounds like a little talking machine. You need a tape recorder to follow him around with. 😀

  4. 1 July 2009 10:34

    Oh, I remembered some more… fridge, washer, shower, water, milk, Kashi, cracker, light, outside, off, on, hot, cold, go…

    This morning, Tim brought him in to snuggle with us before we got out of bed. Keyven kept pushing my face away from his and saying, “Hot!” because I was breathing on him. LOL… apparently he hasn’t picked up “stinky morning breath” yet. But “hot” is a good excuse.

  5. Grandpa permalink
    16 July 2009 08:21

    I’ve saved a message from Keyven that’s on our phone and listen to it every few days. I don’t understand it all, but I’m sure it’s profound.

    • 17 July 2009 07:46

      I think I have a video of him leaving the message in question! It was on 4th of July, he had Tim’s phone, and we couldn’t figure out if he was actually talking to someone or just pretending. I’ll try to get it uploaded to YouTube so you guys can see it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

