Skip to content

I’m Just Sayin’

6 October 2009

Here I am, on my fifth morning in a row of insomnia.  Yay.  I’ve got this down to a science now, though:

– Wake up.

– Realize it’s way too early to be awake unless I want to start a new career at the donut shop.

– Try to go back to sleep, without success.

– Going back to sleep is frequently hampered by some annoying random song stuck in my head.  Today’s was “Teardrops on My Guitar.”  Really, brain?  I hate that song and you know it.

– Get up and pee.  (This one just started yesterday.)

– Listen to everyone else in the vicinity sawing logs.  Think about poking them until they stop, or are at least as awake as I am.

– Play solitaire on my phone, in hopes that it will lull my brain back in to sleeping or pass the time until it’s actually time to get up.

– Debate doing something useful with my time, like blogging or homework (ha!).

– Finally fall back asleep — provided I’ve been up at least an hour and a half, I can usually get some winks in as long as it’s not to close to actual waking time. Otherwise, waking up for real is torture.

The interesting thing about all this is that I recall it used to happen to me in my super-early prego days before (and again in the 3rd trimester).  Sunday & Monday, I had weird little fluttery cramps off and on all day.  Too early for period cramps.  Right on time for implantation cramps.

Also, Sunday night I finally started peeing a lot and haven’t stopped since.  As the MS walk crew can attest, I usually have a bladder of steel.  Even though that problem is typically associated with later pregnancy because of the uterus pushing on the bladder, it can be a sign of very early pregnancy.  Because your body is already making changes that cause you to pee more — like flushing out toxins and increasing blood supply.

I know, I know… it’s still too early to tell.  And I’m not saying 100% that I think I’m pregnant.  I’m just cautiously optimistic.  And I don’t have anything better to do at 5 a.m. than this, so you guys can relive the tortured pre-test moments with me. 🙂

Have you seen the sidebar countdown? Six more days until I get to pee on a stick.  Technically, I could take a test as early as Thursday because that’s when the hCG shot should be totally out of my system. And I DO have a couple more tests now, thanks to a donation this weekend from Alison of her unneeded prego sticks. Hmmm… no, I shouldn’t.  I will really try to be a good girl and wait until Monday.

Oh, I forgot to tell a little story previously about our trip to the doctor’s office last week.  When we got there the day of our IUI, there was a bright blue Honda Fit parked next to the front door of the office building.  Its custom tag read “BLUBRRY.”  Strange coincidence?  Or a sign?  I’m just sayin’…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Auntie Lynn permalink
    6 October 2009 09:38

    I’m sooooooooooooo sad not to see you at Christmas. I cant think of anything more depressing than that. I don’t care about gifts. I just want to see you guys. That’s about
    it. When will you be there for the wedding. Maybe I’ll come then. I just can’t wait much
    longer to see you and I can’t do the driving my back is too bad.

    Auntie Lynn

  2. Sarah permalink
    6 October 2009 18:17

    FINGERS CROSSED!!

  3. 6 October 2009 20:44

    Auntie Lynn… it’s nice to be loved so much. We’ll figure something out, I promise.

    Sarah… thanks! I’ll let you know when you can uncross them. 🙂

  4. 6 October 2009 21:03

    Counting down the days!!!!

    I tend to have to pee constantly early on– and the blubrry plate-awesome!

  5. 7 October 2009 15:38

    Had another early wake-up today but I just ignored my bladder and made myself go back to sleep. So glad to hear I’m not the only one who goes so much this early. (*knock on wood*) I’ve also never been so happy to be exhausted, hungry, and breaking out with zits! Hopefully this has taken. We shall see…

  6. kelly permalink
    17 May 2010 01:38

    just getting used to being pregnant its setting in n reading 10 things not to say to a pregnant woman the best thing ever
    iv been looking for a book to kill time! lol totally hate the what to expect books blehh *gags* came across ur blog n really wish it was a book with fun charts of dos n dnts n ur funny stories u should really cnsider the idea!!!
    ur a great writer!

Leave a Reply

