Skip to content

Basket Boy Birthday Song

9 November 2009

Oh, blog.  How I have neglected you.  I haven’t even posted stuff about my own kid’s birthday, and it was almost a month ago. Well, at least that just goes to show that when I miss other people’s kid’s birthdays, it’s not because I don’t love ya’ll.

There are so many things to tell, so many stories that I wish I just had a video camera crew with me 24/7 so they could capture all of this kid’s adorable cuteness — and maybe some of his not-so-adorable naughtiness, so I can remember that when I think I want to have five kids.

This video will just have to hold you over for now.  I posted it on Facebook a couple of days ago, but I know lots of the blog faithful aren’t on there or maybe didn’t see it.  It’s pretty darn cute, if I do say so myself.  It’s from last Sunday, and he has been singing it ever since.

In fact, if I may digress for a moment, there’s a really funny story involving this whole singing “happy birthday” thing.

Last Saturday (the 31st), was Nana’s birthday.  Since we were with family & friends all day for Neewollah, we ended up at my grandparents’ house in the country for our traditional post-Neewollah food & bonfire.  Before we eat, the VanDyne family always gathers in a circle to hold hands and pray (there are so many of us, there’s not usually a table big enough to sit around at once).  Keyven loves it.  He squints his little eyes shut and then peeks around the room at everyone while someone is praying.  This particular night, someone suggested that we should sing “Happy Birthday” to Nana before we prayed.  So, we all stood there, holding hands and singing to her.

Later that night, back at home, our very tired boy (who had a minimal nap and lots of over-stimulation) was insisting on having some yogurt, even though it was almost 9:30 p.m.  Tim and I were sitting with him at the table, keeping him company while he ate.  And jabbered.  And ate.  And jabbered.  Then he stopped, set down his spoon, and looked at me.

“We pray?” he asked.

“Uhhm… okay.” I said, as I took Tim’s and Keyven’s hands. We bowed our heads. I said a quick prayer, and figured he would get back to his eating so we could get him to bed.

“Nooooooo,” Keyven said, “I pray.” He reached out for our hands.

Tim and I smiled at each other and held hands again, looking at Keyven expectantly, before closing our eyes for him to pray.

There was a brief pause.  I peeked out at him and he was sitting there, little eyes all scrunched shut.

He started out, “Hap-birth-day. To. Yooooooooooou…”

Tim & I both looked at each other at the same time and almost lost it. It was all we could do to keep quiet and let him finish his “prayer” — complete with “Hap-birth-day. Nan-uhhhhhhhh. Hap-birth. Day. To. Yoooooou!”

Could this kid be any cuter?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    10 November 2009 06:17

    aw so cute!

  2. Kathleen permalink
    11 November 2009 09:32

    He is just too cute!!!!

Leave a Reply

