Skip to content

To Infinity… and Beyond

23 February 2012

A while back, when I posted an anecdote about Keyven on Facebook, my cousin Marci made a comment along the lines of “Hey, didn’t there used to be a blog about this sweet boy?” So, every time I’ve posted some story or funny line about him since then, I’ve thought of the blog… and meant to write.

This time, the story is a little longer than is fitting for a FB status update, so I decided what better time to post something on the blog than now?! Plus, I have a super-adorable picture of my little man from this morning before school.

As long as Keyven has been obsessed with the “Cars” movies, we have said that we love each other “to infinity and beyond.” Even though I’ve tried to explain the concept of infinity to him, I wasn’t sure he got it. I figured it was just a catch phrase he liked repeating. Well, yesterday he proved me wrong.

Yesterday, I picked him up from school yesterday (we call it school, but technically it’s daycare) and found out that he had gotten in trouble for helping some other boys on the playground play “keep away” with another kid’s hat. On the way home, we had a serious conversation about why that wasn’t nice, and how it would make him feel if someone did that to him. He wasn’t a happy camper about getting in trouble, but he got the point.

When we got inside the house, I knelt down to give him a hug. “I love you, Keyv,” I said to his somber little pouty face. And these were his exact words:

“Well, mommy… considering the conversation we just had in the car, I only love you a little bit right now. But probably tomorrow I’ll love you to infinity and beyond again.”

It was all I could do to not laugh out loud at his adorable proclamation. I don’t know where he comes up with these things… how many 4-year-olds say, “considering the conversation”? Instead, I squeezed him tight and told him it was all okay.

Thankfully today, all was well. He even told me on the way home that he wasn’t mad at me anymore and spent the whole evening randomly telling me that he loves me, and giving me hugs to make up for it.

Photo: Keyven, dressed for school in a tie & shirt he picked out himself.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    23 February 2012 21:45

    You’ve got the coolest kid ever!

  2. 23 February 2012 21:55

    What a great story… “love you to infinity” – perfect!

  3. Auntie Lynn permalink
    23 February 2012 23:25

    To Keyven and Mommy Lori … I love you both to infinity and beyond~!!! Thanks so much,
    Lori, for sharing this fabulous story. Loved it!!!

Leave a Reply

